In 1782, at the end of the Revolutionary War, Captain Cornelius Elmendorphh helped establish a new settlement by building his log home, a tavern, in the region of Pine Plains. Only fifteen miles east of General Washington’s fort, this settlement was the connecting link between the Hudson River and Connecticut. The story of the Stissing House, the dreams of its proprietors, and its subsequent ups and downs, mirrors the consequences of the ambitious pioneers. This elegant building boasts not only its grand history of society balls, town meetings, and political conventions, but also of its notorious past of shameful excesses. The Stissing House was built in the 1700’s and includes historic and unique architectural features. Of special interest is one of only a handful of early 19th century domed ballrooms in the country, and extremely rare form of original Dutch colonial framing and some of the finest known examples of 18th century hand hewn timbers. It has served as an inn, tavern, restaurantand bawdyhouse for generations of New Yorkers passing through what was once the primary crossroads of early New York State. Washington and Roosevelt used the Stissing House to further their political careers; the Marquis de Lafayette also spent his nights here, along with countless cattle herders, horse breeders, wayfarers and others, who stopped at the Stissing House for food, drink and entertainment. After the restoration efforts by its owners and the help of the community, the Stissing House has regained its spirited past. Pine Plains continues to preserve its history through the preservation of its buildings and sites of historical importance. Add to this the natural beauty of the surrounding countryside and a true respect for the environment by its residents. Pine Plains remains a very special place.